Is tesamorelin safe?
Its label sets out the risks for the people it was tested and approved in, adults with HIV and excess belly fat: the common problems were injection-site reactions, joint pain and swelling, and the warnings cover raised IGF-1, blood sugar, allergic reactions and cancer. The label doesn’t say tesamorelin causes cancer; it warns that the growth hormone it releases is a known growth factor, and rules it out for anyone with active cancer.1
- Cancer
- Ruled out with active cancer. After a treated, stable cancer, start only after weighing the risk of it coming back; stop at any sign that it has.1
- IGF-1
- Goes up on the drug. Monitor it, and consider stopping if it stays high.1
- Blood sugar
- Diabetes developed in 5% on the drug against 1% on placebo.1
- Fluid retention
- Swelling, joint pain and carpal tunnel syndrome, which pass or resolve once the drug is stopped.1
- Allergic reactions
- 4% of patients in the trials.1
- Injection site
- 25% on the drug and 14% on placebo, over the first 26 weeks.1
- Critical illness
- Consider stopping it in critically ill patients.1
- Not established
- Long-term heart and blood-vessel safety.1
Where tesamorelin is sold
ElitePhysiqMD
$274.50 per month
- What it is
- dose not stated
- What it buys
- Tesamorelin
- Read
- September 2026
Longevixx
$299 per month
- What it is
- dose not stated
- What it buys
- Tesamorelin
- Read
- September 2026
Does tesamorelin cause cancer?
The label doesn’t say it does. Its warning, headed an increased risk of neoplasms, rests on one fact about growth hormone:
EGRIFTA SV induces the release of endogenous growth hormone (GH), a known growth factor.
From that fact come three rules. The drug is ruled out for anyone with active cancer. For someone whose cancer was treated and is stable, it should start only after the benefit is weighed against the risk of the cancer coming back. And it should be stopped at any sign that a cancer has returned.1 For people with HIV, the label adds a caution of its own: “Carefully consider the decision to start treatment with EGRIFTA SV based on the increased background risk of malignancies in HIV-positive patients.”
The lab record is short. Lifetime cancer studies in animals were never run: “Life-time carcinogenicity studies in rodents have not been conducted with tesamorelin acetate.” The standard tests for gene damage came back clean, in bacteria, in hamster cells and in the bone marrow of mice.1
The other half is IGF-1, the growth factor the drug raises on purpose. After 26 weeks, “47% had IGF-1 levels greater than 2 standard deviation scores (SDS)”, and 36% had levels above 3. The label is plain about what that means over years: “The effects of prolonged elevations in IGF-1 levels are unknown.”1 A 2026 review of these peptides lists raised IGF-1 among the drug’s key safety signals with the note “(theoretical cancer risk)”, and closes the entry: “No long term safety data available.”2
The side effects people had in the trials
Across the trials, 740 patients took the drug, 543 of them during the first 26 weeks, when a placebo group ran beside them. Among the reactions that came up more often on the drug than on placebo:1
13%
Joint pain (placebo 11%)
6%
Muscle pain (placebo 2%)
6%
Swelling of the legs (placebo 2%)
6%
Pain in the arms or legs (placebo 5%)
Joint pain was almost as common on placebo; swelling and muscle pain show the clearer gap. Swelling and joint pain are how the label describes fluid retention, which it ties to the growth hormone the drug releases and says either passes or resolves once treatment stops.1 It’s the same fluid that makes a lean-mass gain hard to read, as does tesamorelin help build muscle explains.
Injection-site reactions were the most common problem of all: “The incidence of injection site reactions was 25% in EGRIFTA treated patients and 14% in placebo-treated patients during the first 26 weeks of treatment in clinical trials.”1 Rotating the site around the belly is the label’s remedy.
Allergic reactions, mostly rash, itching, flushing and hives, occurred in 4% of patients, and the label’s instruction is to stop and get medical attention.1 Half the patients developed antibodies to the drug by week 26, and 85% of those with allergic reactions had them; patients with and without antibodies lost similar amounts of visceral fat.1
Blood sugar is the warning with a number on it. Diabetes, counted as an HbA1c of 6.5% or more, developed in 5% of patients on the drug and 1% on placebo, a hazard ratio of 3.3.1 The label asks for blood sugar to be checked before starting and at intervals after, and for people with diabetes to be watched for retinopathy, since IGF-1 rises on the drug.
Who shouldn't use it
The label rules it out in four cases: pregnancy, active cancer, a known allergy to the drug or its ingredients, and a pituitary disrupted by surgery, a tumor, head radiation or head injury.1 On pregnancy it gives its reason directly: shrinking visceral fat does nothing for a pregnant woman and could harm the baby, and in rats the drug caused hydrocephaly in the offspring.1
Its safety isn’t established in children, and the label rules it out for them whether or not their growth plates have closed. There is no information on its use past 65.1 People on glucocorticoid replacement for underactive adrenal glands may need a higher dose once they start, because growth hormone changes how cortisone is converted.1 And in patients who are critically ill, the label’s advice is to “consider discontinuing EGRIFTA SV in critically ill patients”.1
What the label can't tell you
Everything above comes from one group of people: adults aged 18 to 65 with HIV and excess belly fat, most of them men, followed for up to a year.1 The label’s own limit on the long run is one line: “Long-term cardiovascular safety of EGRIFTA SV has not been established.”1
It also speaks only for EGRIFTA. What the telehealth listings for the molecule say they dispense is set beside the approved product on what tesamorelin is. Where it stands against the other molecules on this site is on which of these is FDA approved.
Sources
2 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.
- Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2024; label version published 2026-07-31. SPL set id 3d783378-b02d-4f19-99dd-0fc91a042224, Initial U.S. Approval 2010. Read September 2026.
- Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration.Document date: 2026-06-18. PMID 42395176, PMC13322892, doi:10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475. Read September 2026.