sermorelincomparePeptides compared by molecule

What is tesamorelin?

Tesamorelin is a lab-made form of GHRH, the hormone that signals your pituitary to release growth hormone, and it’s the active drug in EGRIFTA. Its FDA label approves it for one use: reducing excess belly fat in adults with HIV who have lipodystrophy.1

What it is
A synthetic copy of human GHRH: the hormone’s full chain of 44 amino acids, with a six-carbon hexenoyl group attached at the front end.1
Approved for
Reducing excess abdominal fat in adults with HIV and lipodystrophy.1
Not for
Weight loss. The label calls its effect on weight neutral.1
Dose
One injection under the skin of the belly, once a day: 1.4 mg of EGRIFTA SV1 or 1.28 mg of EGRIFTA WR.2
Half-life
8 minutes on the EGRIFTA SV label1 and 11 minutes on EGRIFTA WR,2 measured in healthy adults after one dose.
FDA status
Approved, first in 2010.1 Where the other four molecules on this site stand is on which of these is FDA approved.

Where tesamorelin is sold

  • ElitePhysiqMD

    $274.50 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Tesamorelin
    Read
    September 2026
  • Longevixx

    $299 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Tesamorelin
    Read
    September 2026

What it does in the body

Tesamorelin works on the same switch as the body’s own GHRH, a receptor on the pituitary, and it presses that switch about as hard. The label puts it this way:

In vitro, tesamorelin binds and stimulates human GRF receptors with similar potency as the endogenous GRF
EGRIFTA SV label, section 12.1, read September 2026

The receptor sits on the pituitary cells that make growth hormone. GHRH, in the label’s words, is “a hypothalamic peptide that acts on the pituitary somatotroph cells to stimulate the synthesis and pulsatile release of endogenous growth hormone (GH), which is both anabolic and lipolytic”.1 Growth hormone in turn raises IGF-1, a growth factor made in the liver and other tissues, and IGF-1 is one of the numbers the trials tracked. The anabolic half of that sentence is why people ask whether it builds muscle, which its trials answer only in part.

−18%

Visceral fat, Study 1 (placebo +2%)

−14%

Visceral fat, Study 2 (placebo −2%)

+107 ng/mL

IGF-1, Study 1 (placebo −15)

+108 ng/mL

IGF-1, Study 2 (placebo +3)

Visceral fat is the deep layer packed around the organs, measured in these trials by a CT slice at the lower back, and it fell while the weight on the scale barely moved.1 Other pituitary hormones, ACTH and prolactin among them, showed no clinically significant change.1 Ipamorelin gets to growth hormone through a different receptor altogether, and the two routes to the same hormone are compared side by side.

What it's approved for, and in whom

EGRIFTA SV is indicated for the reduction of excess abdominal fat in HIV-infected adult patients with lipodystrophy.
EGRIFTA SV label, section 1, read September 2026

The fat in question is the kind that builds up during HIV treatment. The first of the two approval trials, published in 2007, opens on exactly that point: “Visceral adipose tissue accumulates during antiretroviral therapy in many patients who are infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV); this process is associated with an increased cardiovascular risk.3

So the evidence comes from a specific group of people. The two approval trials enrolled adults aged 18 to 65, all on stable HIV treatment and all with a large waist: at least 95 cm for men and 94 cm for women. Men made up 86% and 84% of the two trials, and the average age in both was 48. Fasting blood sugar had to be under 150 mg/dL, and anyone with a history of cancer was kept out.1

The label draws its own limits around that use. It isn’t for weight loss, long-term heart safety hasn’t been established, and it’s ruled out in pregnancy, in anyone with active cancer, and in anyone whose pituitary has been disrupted by surgery, a tumor, head radiation or head injury.1 The label’s full list of warnings, cancer included, is on is tesamorelin safe.

How long it lasts: three labels, three numbers

Minutes, on all three labels. Tesamorelin clears fast enough that the daily injection has nothing to do with keeping a level up:

EGRIFTA, 2010 label
26 minutes in healthy subjects and 38 in patients with HIV, after 14 days of daily doses4
EGRIFTA SV, 2024 label
8 minutes in healthy subjects, after one 1.4 mg dose1
EGRIFTA WR, 2025 label
11 minutes in healthy subjects, after one 1.28 mg dose2

The first row is where the “26 to 38 minutes” you’ll see elsewhere comes from, and it isn’t a range. The label gives 26 minutes for healthy subjects and 38 for patients with HIV: two averages for two groups of people, each measured “after subcutaneous administration for 14 consecutive days”.4 Nobody measured a spread running from one to the other.

Even on the longest of those figures, 38 minutes, five half-lives pass in a little over three hours, and five half-lives leave about 3% of a dose. A once-a-day injection isn’t keeping a level topped up. It works through what it sets off, and at week 26 IGF-1 was still more than 100 ng/mL above where it started.1 The half-life calculator does the same arithmetic for any interval, and the matrix on the home page sets all five molecules on one axis, from minutes out to the 5.8–8.1 days of the long-acting form of CJC-1295.

The approved product, and what sellers list

The approval belongs to a product, not to the molecule on any shelf. EGRIFTA SV and EGRIFTA WR are made by Theratechnologies and sold on prescription, and every trial figure on this page comes from EGRIFTA.1

Both sellers here that price tesamorelin describe what they dispense as compounded. Longevixx prints “Compounded in a U.S. pharmacy” under the listing, and ElitePhysiqMD’s peptide page carries a notice that reads “Peptide therapies are compounded medications not FDA-approved as finished drug products.” Same name on the menu, different product in the vial.

Both pages were captured in September 2026. Each seller’s figures, with the day they were read, are on its record: Longevixx and ElitePhysiqMD.

On price, the sellers that list it are on the board on the home page with every figure’s billing cycle and reading date, and tesamorelin vs ipamorelin covers the pairing some of them sell.

Questions that come next

Is tesamorelin FDA approved?

Yes. Its labels give an initial U.S. approval in 2010, for the one use above.1 The status of every molecule on this site, side by side, is on which of these is FDA approved.

Is tesamorelin a peptide?

Yes: a chain of 44 amino acids, the full length of human GHRH, with the hexenoyl group added.1

Does tesamorelin build muscle?

Lean body mass rose by 1.3 kg and 1.2 kg in the two approval trials, and strength wasn’t among the things they measured. The details, and who was in those trials, are on does tesamorelin help build muscle.

How is it different from sermorelin?

Sermorelin is the first 29 amino acids of the same hormone;5 tesamorelin is all 44, with a group added at the front. How the two compare on approval, sellers and clearance is on tesamorelin vs sermorelin.

How is it different from ipamorelin?

Ipamorelin reaches growth hormone through the ghrelin receptor rather than the GHRH receptor, and some sellers pair the two. Tesamorelin vs ipamorelin sets them side by side.

Sources

5 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.

  1. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. DailyMed structured product label, National Library of Medicine.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2024; label version published 2026-07-31. SPL set id 3d783378-b02d-4f19-99dd-0fc91a042224, Initial U.S. Approval 2010. Read September 2026.
  2. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA WR (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. DailyMed structured product label, National Library of Medicine.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2025; label version published 2026-08-03. SPL set id 839334d3-8c1d-4c26-9036-2ab524a6ea75, Initial U.S. Approval 2010. Read September 2026.
  3. Falutz J, Allas S, Blot K, Potvin D, Kotler D, Somero M, Berger D, Brown S, Richmond G, Fessel J, Turner R, Grinspoon S. Metabolic effects of a growth hormone-releasing factor in patients with HIV. New England Journal of Medicine, volume 357, issue 23, pages 2359–2370.Document date: 2007-12-06. PMID 18057338, doi:10.1056/NEJMoa072375, ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00123253. Read September 2026.
  4. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA (tesamorelin for injection) for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. Drugs@FDA label archive, Food and Drug Administration, application 022505.Document date: label face date: Revised 11/2010. FDA Reference ID 2863003, Initial U.S. Approval 2010. Read September 2026.
  5. Esposito P, Barbero L, Caccia P, Caliceti P, D'Antonio M, Piquet G, Veronese FM. PEGylation of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GRF) analogues. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, volume 55, issue 10, pages 1279–1291.Document date: 2003-09-26. PMID 14499707, doi:10.1016/s0169-409x(03)00109-1. Read September 2026.