SermorelinCompare

GHRH analogs vs ghrelin mimetics

These peptides signal growth hormone through two different receptors. Here is how the mechanisms differ, what that tells you—and what it cannot tell you about a treatment or a provider's combination product.

In this guide

Which peptides use the GHRH pathway?

Sermorelin, Tesamorelin, CJC-1295 (no DAC) and CJC-1295 + DAC all carry the same recorded mechanism, and each of those 4 cells is traced to a document. What the phrase means is at its plainest in the oldest of them, which describes sermorelin by giving its sequence rather than its category.

Synthetically produced GRF1-29 (Sermorelin) has an amino acid composition identical to the N-terminal 29 amino acids sequence of the natural hypothalamic GHRH1-44
Esposito et al. 2003, abstract

An analog of the hormone, then — the first twenty-nine amino acids of a forty-four-amino-acid hypothalamic peptide, arriving at the receptor the body’s own GHRH arrives at. The other three in this group are recorded under the same class for the same reason. What separates them is not the door they knock on; it is how long they last once they are through it, which is the next section but one.

There are two classes in this column and no third, which is what makes it a line rather than a spectrum. A class is also not a license, a safety finding or a dose: it is one row of the matrix, and the other 4 disagree with it constantly.

Where to buy either

All provider reviews
  • HealthRX

    Read review

    Published offer · Recurring rate$179per month

    Sermorelinmonthly supply

    See HealthRX pricing

    We may be paid if you sign up through this link.

  • Published offer · Starting price$99per month

    SermorelinSee the review for supply details.

    See Lttl pricing

    We may be paid if you sign up through this link.

How ipamorelin differs

Ipamorelin is the exception, and the paper that introduced it did not leave the question open. Its authors ran the compound against antagonists of both receptor systems and reported which one answered.

A pharmacological profiling using GHRP and growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH) antagonists clearly demonstrated that ipamorelin, like GHRP-6, stimulates GH release via a GHRP-like receptor.
Raun et al. 1998, abstract

The later paper this site cites for the cell says the same thing in the vocabulary the cell uses, describing ipamorelin as “ipamorelin, a selective growth hormone secretagogue and agonist of the ghrelin receptor”. Ghrelin is a stomach hormone; the receptor it acts on is not the GHRH receptor, and a molecule that reaches growth hormone through it is doing a different thing on the way, whatever the shelf it is sold from says.

That is the whole of the difference this page is about, and it is also the reason the two are so often sold together rather than instead of each other. What the literature records about combining them is on sermorelin vs ipamorelin, which takes one such pair in detail; what the sellers do with it is below.

What combination products pair together

Here is what makes the split worth a page rather than a footnote. 6 of the 51 priced listings this site has read name more than one of these 5 molecules, across 2 of the 22 sellers on the roster — and 6 of those 6 put one molecule from each side of the split into the same product. Not one of them pairs two molecules from the same class.

These combinations contain ingredients that act through different receptors. That explains the proposed pairing, but does not prove that combining them improves outcomes or establishes a suitable dose.

Listings that name more than one of these 5 molecules, and what they pair with what.
  1. Listings naming more than one of the 5

    6 of 51

    Listed by 2 of the 22 providers compared here.

  2. Of those, pairing across the two classes

    6 of 6

    The empty part of this bar is the number that stay inside one class, and it is zero.

  3. Of those, stating what dose the money buys

    0 of 6

    None of them. The pairing is named; the amount of either molecule in it is not.

  4. Of those, saying which CJC-1295 form is inside

    4 of 6

    2 name a CJC-1295 product without saying which of this site's two records it is.

Based on the 51 published offers in our comparison. Prices come from providers’ own pages. See the offer details in our provider reviews.

What mechanism cannot tell you

The class is a weak predictor of the thing a buyer plans around. Inside the group of 4, the measured half-lives run from 8 min for Tesamorelin to 5.8–8.1 days for CJC-1295 + DAC — a factor of somewhere between 1044 and 1458, between two molecules the mechanism row files together. One is injected daily and the other weekly, and the row that groups them says nothing about either schedule.

A fourth member of the class cannot be put on that scale at all. CJC-1295 (no DAC) is recorded as not reported in humans, which is what the review covering that exact compound reports. Same class, same backbone, and no answer to how long it lasts.

The other rows disagree with the class too. The regulatory record splits this same group of 4 into 3 on its own, and which of these is FDA approved? takes that column the way this page takes the mechanism one. Nothing on this page says a molecule in either class is safer, stronger or better suited to anybody — that is a clinician’s judgment about a person, and this is a row in a table.

How the 4 in the larger class differ from one another
  • Sermorelin — half-life recorded as 10–20 min; regulatory status recorded as withdrawn.
  • Tesamorelin — half-life recorded as 8 min; regulatory status recorded as approved (Egrifta SV).
  • CJC-1295 (no DAC) — half-life recorded as not reported in humans; regulatory status recorded as not approved.
  • CJC-1295 + DAC — half-life recorded as 5.8–8.1 days; regulatory status recorded as not approved.

Each figure is the one printed in the matrix, with the label or trial behind it on the sources page.

Plasma half-lifeRecorded
Tesamorelin
8 min
Sermorelin
10–20 min
Ipamorelin
~2 hours
CJC-1295 + DAC
5.8–8.1 days
TES
SER
IPA
CJC-D
  • TESTesamorelin8 min
  • SERSermorelin10–20 min
  • IPAIpamorelin~2 hours
  • CJC-DCJC-1295 + DAC5.8–8.1 days
Plasma half-life, logarithmic scale, ordered shortest first. The spacing is the point: linear spacing would put 3 of the 4 bands drawn here inside one smudge at the left edge. Where a figure is a range the mark is the range; where a single value is recorded the mark is a tick, because a bar would imply a reported range. CJC-1295 (no DAC) has no band here: no human study reports a figure to draw.

Sources

The references below support the mechanism comparison. Quotations are taken from the published abstracts, rather than a review of the full papers.

9 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.

  1. Esposito P, Barbero L, Caccia P, Caliceti P, D'Antonio M, Piquet G, Veronese FM. PEGylation of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GRF) analogues. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, volume 55, issue 10, pages 1279–1291.Document date: 2003-09-26. PMID 14499707, doi:10.1016/s0169-409x(03)00109-1.
  2. Food and Drug Administration, Department of Health and Human Services. Determination That GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection, 0.5 Milligrams Base/Vial and 1.0 Milligrams Base/Vial, and GEREF (Sermorelin Acetate) Injection, 0.05 Milligrams Base/Amp, Were Not Withdrawn From Sale for Reasons of Safety or Effectiveness. Federal Register, volume 78, number 42, pages 14095–14096, Notice.Document date: published 2013-03-04, signed 2013-02-26. 78 FR 14095, FR Doc. 2013-04827, Docket No. FDA-2012-P-1071.
  3. Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Frontiers in Endocrinology, volume 17, article 1822475.Document date: 2026-06-18. PMID 42395176, PMC13322892, doi:10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475.
  4. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. DailyMed structured product label, National Library of Medicine.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2024; label version published 2026-07-31. SPL set id 3d783378-b02d-4f19-99dd-0fc91a042224, Initial U.S. Approval 2010.
  5. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA WR (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. DailyMed structured product label, National Library of Medicine.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2025; label version published 2026-08-03. SPL set id 839334d3-8c1d-4c26-9036-2ab524a6ea75, Initial U.S. Approval 2010.
  6. Venkova K, Mann W, Nelson R, Greenwood-Van Meerveld B. Efficacy of ipamorelin, a novel ghrelin mimetic, in a rodent model of postoperative ileus. Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, volume 329, issue 3, pages 1110–1116.Document date: 2009-06. PMID 19289567, doi:10.1124/jpet.108.149211.
  7. Gobburu JV, Agersø H, Jusko WJ, Ynddal L. Pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic modeling of ipamorelin, a growth hormone releasing peptide, in human volunteers. Pharmaceutical Research, volume 16, issue 9, pages 1412–1416.Document date: 1999-09. PMID 10496658, doi:10.1023/a:1018955126402.
  8. Raun K, Hansen BS, Johansen NL, Thøgersen H, Madsen K, Ankersen M, Andersen PH. Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue. European Journal of Endocrinology, volume 139, issue 5, pages 552–561.Document date: 1998-11. PMID 9849822, doi:10.1530/eje.0.1390552.
  9. Teichman SL, Neale A, Lawrence B, Gagnon C, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA. Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, volume 91, issue 3, pages 799–805.Document date: 2006-03. PMID 16352683, doi:10.1210/jc.2005-1536.

Compare provider prices

The board below is every listing in these records that buys Ipamorelin. It is the same set as the pairings above, because no figure here buys that molecule on its own. Check the stated ingredients, supply and billing period before comparing prices. The full set of 51 listings across 22 providers is on the provider price comparison.

Compare published provider prices
6 recorded prices from 2 of 3 providers, across 2 billing periods. 1 provider has no listed price. Listed in provider order, without a price ranking.
ProviderMedication & supplyPublished priceProvider site
ElitePhysiqMDRead review of ElitePhysiqMDIpamorelin“CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin” — also buys CJC-1295, with or without DAC not stateddose not stated; total medication quantity not stated; treatment price requires a separate $89/month auto-renewing membership$315.00Published offer · Recurring rateper monthElitePhysiqMD: Visit provider
Ipamorelin“CJC-1295 + Ipamorelin — 3 Month Supply” — also buys CJC-1295, with or without DAC not statedthree-month supply; dose not stated; total medication quantity not stated; separate $89/month membership$809.10Published offer · Upfront totalevery 3 months
TesamorelinIpamorelin“Tesamorelin / Ipamorelin”dose not stated; total medication quantity not stated; treatment price requires a separate $89/month auto-renewing membership$315.00Published offer · Recurring rateper month
TesamorelinIpamorelin“Tesamorelin / Ipamorelin — 3 Month Supply”three-month supply; dose not stated; total medication quantity not stated; separate $89/month membership$805.50Published offer · Upfront totalevery 3 months
LongevixxRead review of LongevixxPrice not listed.Longevixx: Visit provider
Youth & SoulRead review of Youth & SoulSermorelinIpamorelin“Growth Hormone Optimization” — also buys NAD+ sublingual tablets (250mg); Methylene Blue; IGF-1 & hormone panel blood work review; physician monitoring & dose optimization; sleep quality & recovery tracking; shippingsermorelin/ipamorelin peptide injections; peptide dose not stated; total supply not stated$149Published offer · Recurring rateper monthYouth & Soul: Visit provider
SermorelinIpamorelin“Ultimate Longevity Protocol” — also buys NAD+ injectable or nasal spray (500mg); BPC-157; Low Dose Naltrexone (LDN) 1.5–4.5mg; Methylene Blue; comprehensive longevity blood panel; dedicated physician with weekly check-ins; telomere & biological age assessment; priority shippingsermorelin/ipamorelin peptide therapy; peptide dose not stated; total supply not stated$299Published offer · Recurring rateper month

Compare the stated supply and billing period. Starting prices, prepaid totals and introductory offers are different commitments; confirm current terms before paying.

The list that follows is drawn from all 5 molecules rather than from the board above, so it is wider by 1 record: a seller carrying more than one of these molecules whose figures this site declines to publish, with the reason on its own record.

These providers list more than one of the peptides compared here. Read the reviews for plan details and questions to ask before paying. How we earn.