sermorelincomparePeptides compared by molecule

What does CJC-1295 do?

CJC-1295 makes the pituitary release more growth hormone, the job the body’s own GHRH does, and in the one form tested in people a single injection kept growth hormone raised for 6 days or more.5 That form carries a DAC, a chemical group that binds it to albumin in the blood; the form most CJC-1295 and ipamorelin stacks use doesn’t, and it has no peer-reviewed study in people.1

What it is
A modified copy of the first 29 amino acids of GHRH, with four of them swapped to resist the enzymes that break it down.21
With DAC
An added lysine at the tail end carries a reactive group that latches onto albumin once injected, which keeps it circulating.2
Half-life with DAC
5.8–8.1 days, in healthy adults.5
Half-life without DAC
None published. The evidence review’s entry reads “t½ not reported in human studies”.1
Tested in people
Only the DAC form. The three trials behind the figures here enrolled healthy adults aged 20 to 61.56

Where CJC-1295 is sold

  • ElitePhysiqMD

    $315.00 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Ipamorelin, with CJC-1295, with or without DAC not stated
    Read
    September 2026
  • Longevixx

    $329 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Ipamorelin, with CJC-1295, with or without DAC not stated
    Read
    September 2026

It does GHRH's job, for longer

GHRH is the brain’s signal to the pituitary to make growth hormone. The FDA label for EGRIFTA, a drug in the same class, describes it as “a hypothalamic peptide that acts on the pituitary somatotroph cells to stimulate the synthesis and pulsatile release of endogenous growth hormone (GH), which is both anabolic and lipolytic”.3 Growth hormone then raises IGF-1, and the CJC-1295 trials tracked both.

The natural hormone has one problem as a drug, and the human trial behind the DAC form’s half-life names it in its opening line: “Therapeutic use of GHRH to enhance GH secretion is limited by its short duration of action.5 Sermorelin, the unmodified first 29 amino acids, shows the scale of it: its recorded half-life is 10–20 min.4

CJC-1295 attacks that problem twice. Four swapped amino acids make the chain harder to cut,1 and the DAC anchors it to albumin. In the rat study that named it, the DAC version was still in plasma beyond 72 hours.2

These results led to the identification of CJC-1295 as a stable and active hGRF(1-29) analog with an extended plasma half-life.
Jetté et al. 2005, abstract, read September 2026
Plasma half-lifeRecorded
Sermorelin
10–20 min
CJC-1295 + DAC
5.8–8.1 days
SER
CJC-D
  • SERSermorelin10–20 min
  • CJC-DCJC-1295 + DAC5.8–8.1 days
Plasma half-life, logarithmic scale, ordered shortest first. The spacing is the point: linear spacing would put 1 of the 2 bands drawn here inside one smudge at the left edge. Where a figure is a range the mark is the range; where a single value is recorded the mark is a tick, because a bar there would draw a span nobody measured.

The form without DAC has no bar: no human study has reported a half-life to draw. What any recorded half-life leaves after a given interval is one line on the half-life calculator.

What the long-acting form did in people

Two placebo-controlled trials gave it to healthy adults aged 21 to 61, as single doses and then as two or three doses a week or two apart.5 One shot moved both hormones for days:

After a single injection of CJC-1295, there were dose-dependent increases in mean plasma GH concentrations by 2- to 10-fold for 6 d or more and in mean plasma IGF-I concentrations by 1.5- to 3-fold for 9-11 d.
Teichman et al. 2006, abstract, read September 2026

Repeated doses stacked: “After multiple CJC-1295 doses, mean IGF-I levels remained above baseline for up to 28 d.” No serious adverse reactions were reported.5

A second group then asked whether a constant signal would flatten the body’s own rhythm, since growth hormone normally arrives in pulses. It didn’t. Measured overnight a week after one injection, in healthy men aged 20 to 40, the pulses kept their size and frequency. What rose was the floor between them: trough levels went up 7.5-fold, lifting average growth hormone 46% and IGF-1 45%.6

GH secretion was increased after CJC-1295 administration with preserved pulsatility.
Ionescu and Frohman 2006, abstract, read September 2026

These trials measured hormones and safety. None measured muscle, fat or strength, and a 2026 review that grades each of these peptides by its evidence sums up the long-acting form as “Phase I PK/PD studies in healthy adults; no controlled efficacy data”.1

The CJC-1295 in most stacks is the untested one

Every CJC-1295 listing on this site’s board is sold paired with ipamorelin, and a 2026 review says which form that pairing usually means: “ipamorelin is also frequently discussed in combination with CJC-1295 (typically the non-DAC form)”.1

To date, no controlled clinical studies have directly evaluated this compound in humans
Dominikowski et al. 2026, on CJC-1295 without DAC, read September 2026

So what the form without DAC does in people is inferred, not measured. That review traces the claims made for it to extrapolation from related compounds, sermorelin first among them, and to sources outside academic publishing.1

And the listings don’t say which form you’re getting: neither of the two that name CJC-1295 here states it. That gap is the subject of which CJC-1295 are you buying. How long either form takes to show anything is on CJC-1295 and ipamorelin: how long until results.

Questions that come next

Is CJC-1295 the same as sermorelin?

No. Both start from the first 29 amino acids of GHRH. Sermorelin leaves them as they are;4 CJC-1295 swaps four of them, and the DAC form adds the albumin anchor.2 The two are set side by side on CJC-1295 vs sermorelin.

Does CJC-1295 build muscle?

No published study in people has measured it. The human trials measured growth hormone and IGF-1, in the DAC form only.1 For a GHRH analog that does have lean-mass results from placebo-controlled trials, see what tesamorelin’s trials found.

Why is it paired with ipamorelin?

Ipamorelin pushes on a different receptor, the ghrelin receptor, so the idea is two signals at once. The review that describes the habit says “this practice is largely driven by anecdotal rationale, and controlled clinical evidence supporting synergy or meaningful body-composition outcomes in healthy individuals remains limited”.1 The two receptors are compared on GHRH analogs vs ghrelin mimetics.

What is its regulatory status?

The status of all five molecules on this site, each with the document behind it, is on which of these is FDA approved.

Sources

6 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.

  1. Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Frontiers in Endocrinology, volume 17, article 1822475.Document date: 2026-06-18. PMID 42395176, PMC13322892, doi:10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475. Read September 2026.
  2. Jetté L, Léger R, Thibaudeau K, Benquet C, Robitaille M, Pellerin I, Paradis V, van Wyk P, Pham K, Bridon DP. Human growth hormone-releasing factor (hGRF)1-29-albumin bioconjugates activate the GRF receptor on the anterior pituitary in rats: identification of CJC-1295 as a long-lasting GRF analog. Endocrinology, volume 146, issue 7, pages 3052–3058.Document date: 2005-07. PMID 15817669, doi:10.1210/en.2004-1286. Read September 2026.
  3. Theratechnologies Inc., prescribing information approved by the Food and Drug Administration. EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin) for injection, for subcutaneous use — full prescribing information. DailyMed structured product label, National Library of Medicine.Document date: label face date: Revised 03/2024; label version published 2026-07-31. SPL set id 3d783378-b02d-4f19-99dd-0fc91a042224, Initial U.S. Approval 2010. Read September 2026.
  4. Esposito P, Barbero L, Caccia P, Caliceti P, D'Antonio M, Piquet G, Veronese FM. PEGylation of growth hormone-releasing hormone (GRF) analogues. Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, volume 55, issue 10, pages 1279–1291.Document date: 2003-09-26. PMID 14499707, doi:10.1016/s0169-409x(03)00109-1. Read September 2026.
  5. Teichman SL, Neale A, Lawrence B, Gagnon C, Castaigne JP, Frohman LA. Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone (GH) and insulin-like growth factor I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, volume 91, issue 3, pages 799–805.Document date: 2006-03. PMID 16352683, doi:10.1210/jc.2005-1536. Read September 2026.
  6. Ionescu M, Frohman LA. Pulsatile secretion of growth hormone (GH) persists during continuous stimulation by CJC-1295, a long-acting GH-releasing hormone analog. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, volume 91, issue 12, pages 4792–4797.Document date: 2006-12. PMID 17018654, doi:10.1210/jc.2006-1702. Read September 2026.