sermorelincomparePeptides compared by molecule

What is ipamorelin?

Ipamorelin is a short synthetic peptide that makes the pituitary release growth hormone, and it does it through the ghrelin receptor rather than the receptor GHRH uses.1 No medicine containing it is approved for the uses people buy it for,2 and the only trial that gave it to patients ran it into a vein, in hospital, after bowel surgery.3

What it is
A growth hormone secretagogue: a molecule that tells the pituitary to release the hormone it already makes.4
What it acts on
The ghrelin receptor, GHSR-1a — the same switch the hunger hormone uses.1 Not the GHRH receptor, which is what separates it from the other molecules on this site.
Half-life
~2 hours, in eight healthy men per dose level across five intravenous infusion rates.5
Approved use
no approval for these uses.2 Where all five molecules stand is on which of these is FDA approved.
Where the FDA lists it
In category 2 of the bulk substances nominated for compounding: the substances the agency says may present significant safety risks.6
Trials in people
A pharmacokinetic study in healthy volunteers5 and one phase 2 trial in surgical patients.3

Where ipamorelin is sold

  • ElitePhysiqMD

    $274.50 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Tesamorelin + Ipamorelin
    Read
    September 2026
  • Longevixx

    $329 per month

    What it is
    dose not stated
    What it buys
    Ipamorelin, with CJC-1295, with or without DAC not stated
    Read
    September 2026

What it is, and what it acts on

The paper that introduced it in 1998 called it the first selective growth hormone secretagogue, and it earned the word selective by testing what else moved. The receptor came first:

A pharmacological profiling using GHRP and growth hormone-releasing hormone (GHRH) antagonists clearly demonstrated that ipamorelin, like GHRP-6, stimulates GH release via a GHRP-like receptor.
Raun et al. 1998, European Journal of Endocrinology, read September 2026

GHRP-6 is an older peptide of the same family, so that sentence places ipamorelin outside the GHRH route entirely. A later pharmacology paper names the target plainly, calling it “ipamorelin, a selective growth hormone secretagogue and agonist of the ghrelin receptor”.1 That is the ghrelin receptor, the one the hunger hormone binds, and it is why ipamorelin belongs to a different class from sermorelin and tesamorelin. The two routes to the same hormone sets them side by side.

The selectivity claim rests on what stayed still. In the same experiments the two comparator peptides raised stress hormones — “Administration of both GHRP-6 and GHRP-2 resulted in increased plasma levels of ACTH and cortisol.4 — while ipamorelin did not, and none of the peptides tested moved the other pituitary hormones at all.4 Two things bound that result. It was measured in pigs “The specificity for GH release was studied in swine.”,4 and the cortisol finding is a comparison rather than a flat zero, which the cortisol question takes apart sentence by sentence.

In people the wording is softer. A 2026 review of this whole class describes ipamorelin as a synthetic secretagogue acting at GHSR-1a with “Ipamorelin is a synthetic GH secretagogue that acts as a relatively selective agonist of the GHSR-1a receptor, stimulating endogenous GH release while producing comparatively minimal activation of other pituitary–adrenal axes in available human studies”.2 Comparatively minimal in humans and does not raise it in pigs are different claims, and this site prints both rather than picking the stronger one.

What it's used for

Nothing, officially. The review above puts ipamorelin among the compounds where, with one exception that is not this one, “With the singular exception of tesamorelin within its approved HIV-lipodystrophy indication, none of these compounds carry regulatory approval for performance- or appearance-related use”.2 The exception is tesamorelin inside its HIV indication, which is a different molecule with its own label.

It did have a clinical program, and it was not about muscle or aging. A drug company took it into surgery, for the gut stall that follows a bowel operation:

This proof-of-concept, phase 2, randomized study evaluated the safety and efficacy of the ghrelin-receptor agonist ipamorelin in the treatment of postoperative ileus following abdominal surgery
Beck et al. 2014, International Journal of Colorectal Disease, read September 2026

That trial enrolled 117 patients, of whom 114 formed its safety and analysis populations,3 and it did not find what it was looking for: “There were no significant differences between ipamorelin and placebo in the key and secondary efficacy analyses.3 The 2026 review reads the same result as the end of the road, saying the findings “results from a randomized, controlled proof-of-concept clinical study in patients undergoing bowel resection did not show a statistically significant improvement in postoperative gastrointestinal recovery compared with placebo” and tempered further investigation in that setting.2 What the trial did record about side effects is on ipamorelin side effects.

What people actually buy it for is a separate question with a separate kind of evidence behind it. The same review sets the bodybuilding-forum use out in a table it labels “anthropological/behavioural data, not clinical recommendations”,2 and the pairing with CJC-1295 that most sellers list is described there as driven by anecdotal rationale rather than controlled evidence.2 Whether you can buy it by itself at all is answered on can you buy ipamorelin on its own.

How long it lasts

One paper reports it, and it reports the design alongside the figure: “A trial was conducted with a dose escalation design comprising 5 different infusion rates (4.21, 14.02, 42.13, 84.27 and 140.45 nmol/kg over 15 minutes) with eight healthy male subjects at each dose level.5 Out of that came the number this site records — “The PK parameters showed dose-proportionality, with a short terminal half-life of 2 hours”.5

The growth hormone it sets off comes and goes faster than the peptide does. The same paper describes “The time course of GH stimulation by ipamorelin showed a single episode of GH release with a peak at 0.67 hours and an exponential decline to negligible GH concentration at all doses.5 — one rise, peaking about forty minutes in, then back down. A review of the class puts the peak in healthy adults in the same place, reporting a clear response “In a phase I study in healthy adults, ipamorelin was generally well tolerated and produced a clear GH response, with peak GH levels occurring approximately 40–60 minutes after administration; importantly, no significant effects on other pituitary or adrenal hormones were reported in that setting”.2

So the honest description is a short push on a hormone the body releases in pulses anyway, not a level held up over a day. The half-life calculator runs the arithmetic for any interval, and the axis on the home page puts every recorded figure on one scale, which is the fastest way to see how far apart these five molecules sit.

Which route has actually been studied

Both human studies used a vein. The pharmacokinetic work was infusions,5 and the surgical trial was intravenous too, given twice a day in hospital to “The patients were adults undergoing small and large bowel resection by open or laparoscopic surgery.3 That matters for anyone reading a figure off this page, because a rate measured in an infusion is not automatically the rate under skin.

The FDA has said the same thing from the other direction. Its compounding page records that the agency “FDA has not identified safety-related information regarding ipamorelin acetate via certain other injectable routes of administration. Therefore, the agency lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm if administered to humans via those routes.6

The same regulatory page gives two reasons it is on the list at all, both about the substance rather than the route: compounded drugs containing it “Compounded drugs containing Ipamorelin acetate may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration due to the potential for aggregation or peptide-related impurities.” and it “Ipamorelin acetate also contains unnatural amino acids, which add to the complexity of peptide characterization.6 Category 2 is defined on the page itself: “Bulk drug substances that may present significant safety risks have been placed in category 2 under the interim policies.6 The page was read in September 2026.

Questions that come next

Is ipamorelin a peptide?

Yes, and a short one. It belongs to the growth hormone releasing peptide family, the class the 1998 paper tested it against.4

Is ipamorelin FDA approved?

No. The review this site cites records no approval for these uses for it,2 and the FDA’s own compounding page has it in the category of substances that may present significant safety risks.6 The full comparison is on which of these is FDA approved.

How is it different from sermorelin?

Different receptor. Sermorelin copies GHRH and works on the GHRH receptor; ipamorelin works on the ghrelin receptor.1 Sermorelin vs ipamorelin compares them on every field this site records.

Does ipamorelin raise cortisol?

The pig study found no rise beyond what GHRH itself produced, and the human wording is weaker than that.42 The cortisol question prints both sentences in full.

What are its side effects?

One trial recorded adverse events in patients, and the FDA lists a separate concern about intravenous use. Ipamorelin side effects prints both, in their own words, without treating either as the correction of the other.

Sources

6 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.

  1. Venkova K, Mann W, Nelson R, Greenwood-Van Meerveld B. Efficacy of ipamorelin, a novel ghrelin mimetic, in a rodent model of postoperative ileus. Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, volume 329, issue 3, pages 1110–1116.Document date: 2009-06. PMID 19289567, doi:10.1124/jpet.108.149211. Read September 2026.
  2. Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration. Frontiers in Endocrinology, volume 17, article 1822475.Document date: 2026-06-18. PMID 42395176, PMC13322892, doi:10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475. Read September 2026.
  3. Beck DE, Sweeney WB, McCarter MD; Ipamorelin 201 Study Group. Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the Ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients. International Journal of Colorectal Disease, volume 29, issue 12, pages 1527–1534.Document date: 2014-12. PMID 25331030, doi:10.1007/s00384-014-2030-8, ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00672074. Read September 2026.
  4. Raun K, Hansen BS, Johansen NL, Thøgersen H, Madsen K, Ankersen M, Andersen PH. Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue. European Journal of Endocrinology, volume 139, issue 5, pages 552–561.Document date: 1998-11. PMID 9849822, doi:10.1530/eje.0.1390552. Read September 2026.
  5. Gobburu JV, Agersø H, Jusko WJ, Ynddal L. Pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic modeling of ipamorelin, a growth hormone releasing peptide, in human volunteers. Pharmaceutical Research, volume 16, issue 9, pages 1412–1416.Document date: 1999-09. PMID 10496658, doi:10.1023/a:1018955126402. Read September 2026.
  6. Food and Drug Administration. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks. Human drug compounding, U.S. Food and Drug Administration.Document date: content current as of 04/22/2026. Category 2 of the bulk substances nominated under sections 503A or 503B of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. Read September 2026.