Ipamorelin side effects
One trial has recorded them in patients, and it found adverse events in 87.5% of the ipamorelin group against 94.8% of the placebo group.1 The FDA’s compounding page describes that same study in far stronger terms, and both sentences are printed below, because the difference between them is the most useful thing on this page.2
- Trials in patients
- One: a phase 2 trial after bowel surgery, 117 patients enrolled and 114 in the safety population.1
- Route in that trial
- Intravenous, twice a day, in hospital.1
- Longest study
- Seven days, or until discharge.1
- Long-term safety
- None recorded. A 2026 review of the class states that no long-term safety data are available for it.3
- FDA position
- Listed in category 2 of the substances nominated for compounding, with an immunogenicity concern and a note about intravenous use.2
- Studied under the skin
- Not in a published trial. The agency says it has not identified safety information for other injectable routes.2
Where ipamorelin is sold
ElitePhysiqMD
$274.50 per month
- What it is
- dose not stated
- What it buys
- Tesamorelin + Ipamorelin
- Read
- September 2026
Longevixx
$329 per month
- What it is
- dose not stated
- What it buys
- Ipamorelin, with CJC-1295, with or without DAC not stated
- Read
- September 2026
What the one trial in patients recorded
The trial was run to see whether ipamorelin could restart the gut after a bowel operation. It was “The design was a multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled, clinical trial.” in “The patients were adults undergoing small and large bowel resection by open or laparoscopic surgery.”1 — people already recovering from surgery, which is why the adverse-event rate is high in both arms.
87.5%
Ipamorelin group, of 114 patients across both arms
94.8%
Placebo group, of the same 114 patients
Overall incidence of any treatment-emergent adverse events was 87.5 % in the ipamorelin group and 94.8 % in placebo group.
Read the two figures together and the picture is not a peptide causing trouble; it is a group of post-surgical patients having a hard week either way, slightly fewer of them in the treated arm. The authors’ own conclusion says ipamorelin “twice daily for up to 7 days was well tolerated”.1
They also drew their own limits: “This proof of concept study was small and enrolled patients with a broad range of underlying conditions.”1 A small trial in a mixed group of surgical patients tells you what happened over a week in hospital. It was never built to tell anyone what happens over a season of injections in a healthy adult.
What the FDA says, and about which route
Ipamorelin acetate sits in category 2 of the bulk substances nominated for compounding, which the agency defines on the page itself: “Bulk drug substances that may present significant safety risks have been placed in category 2 under the interim policies.”2 Its entry gives three reasons, and the third is the one that matters here:
A study published in literature identified serious adverse events including death when ipamorelin was administered intravenously for improving gastric motility.
The study it refers to is the one above. Two documents, one trial, two descriptions — and this page prints both rather than choosing. What the agency and the authors do agree on is the route: the deaths and the tolerability both belong to intravenous use in hospital, not to anything a reader is likely to be comparing.
The other two reasons are about the substance itself. Compounded drugs containing it “Compounded drugs containing Ipamorelin acetate may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration due to the potential for aggregation or peptide-related impurities.”, and the agency adds that it “Ipamorelin acetate also contains unnatural amino acids, which add to the complexity of peptide characterization.”2 Both are arguments about what can be in a vial, which is a different question from what the molecule does. Which CJC-1295 are you buying follows that thread for the other half of the usual pairing.
What has never been measured
Searching PubMed for ipamorelin alongside adverse events, safety, tolerability or side effects returns eleven records. One is the trial above, one is a study in rats, and the remaining nine are reviews published in 2026 — papers summarizing the same small pile rather than adding to it.
The most recent of those reviews says so directly, putting against ipamorelin: “Generally favourable tolerability with no significant common adverse effects reported compared to GH therapy; no long term safety data available”3 It also warns against reading its own shorthand too firmly, noting that “Descriptors reflect the strength and consistency of available human data, not a formal grading scheme.”3
The pairing sellers list adds a second unmeasured thing to the first. No published study has given CJC-1295 and ipamorelin to people together, which is CJC-1295 safe sets out with its own census, and the results timeline covers what each molecule has been timed at separately.
The hormones that stayed still
The side effect most people ask about is the one the older peptides in this family are known for: a rise in cortisol and prolactin. The 1998 paper that named ipamorelin tested exactly that, and the comparators did move — “Administration of both GHRP-6 and GHRP-2 resulted in increased plasma levels of ACTH and cortisol.”4 Against that background its own result stands out, and it is a comparison rather than a zero:
Very surprisingly, ipamorelin did not release ACTH or cortisol in levels significantly different from those observed following GHRH stimulation.
Prolactin was flatter still: “None of the GH secretagogues tested affected FSH, LH, PRL or TSH plasma levels.”4 And the margin was wide — “This lack of effect on ACTH and cortisol plasma levels was evident even at doses more than 200-fold higher than the ED50 for GH release.”4 All of it was measured in pigs, “The specificity for GH release was studied in swine.”4
The 2026 review carries the same distinction forward in people while choosing a weaker word, observing that stress-hormone and prolactin rises are “ACTH/cortisol and prolactin elevations are largely a feature of earlier ghrelin-mimetic GHRPs (GHRP-2, GHRP-6, hexarelin), with ipamorelin notably sparing”.3 Sparing is not the same as none, and does ipamorelin raise cortisol is the page that takes both sentences apart.
Questions that come next
Is ipamorelin safe?
The only trial that measured it in patients concluded it “twice daily for up to 7 days was well tolerated” over seven days of intravenous use,1 and no study has run longer than that. The FDA has it in the category of substances that may present significant safety risks.2 Neither statement is a general safety record, and this is not medical advice.
Does ipamorelin cause water retention or joint pain?
Nothing read for this site reports either for ipamorelin. Those effects are on the tesamorelin label, which is a different molecule with a full approval behind it — is tesamorelin safe prints that list.
Does it affect blood sugar?
The trial measured safety by adverse events and laboratory tests, and reported no significant differences in its efficacy analyses;1 it did not publish a separate glucose finding in its abstract. The 2026 review treats dysglycemia as a concern for this class as a whole rather than a documented ipamorelin effect.3
Is it different from side effects of the CJC-1295 pairing?
Nobody has measured the pairing. The two molecules have been studied separately and never together in a published trial, which is CJC-1295 safe covers with the search behind it.
What is ipamorelin, exactly?
A synthetic peptide that releases growth hormone through the ghrelin receptor. What is ipamorelin covers the molecule, the receptor and how long it lasts.
Sources
4 documents, in the order the figures above use them. The date on each is the one printed on the document.
- Beck DE, Sweeney WB, McCarter MD; Ipamorelin 201 Study Group. Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the Ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients.Document date: 2014-12. PMID 25331030, doi:10.1007/s00384-014-2030-8, ClinicalTrials.gov NCT00672074. Read September 2026.
- Food and Drug Administration. Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks.Document date: content current as of 04/22/2026. Category 2 of the bulk substances nominated under sections 503A or 503B of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. Read September 2026.
- Dominikowski A, Rękoś Z, Olejarz M, Szczepanek-Parulska E, Domin R, Ruchała M. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating GH-IGF1 axis: bridging the gap between clinical evidence and patient self-administration.Document date: 2026-06-18. PMID 42395176, PMC13322892, doi:10.3389/fendo.2026.1822475. Read September 2026.
- Raun K, Hansen BS, Johansen NL, Thøgersen H, Madsen K, Ankersen M, Andersen PH. Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue.Document date: 1998-11. PMID 9849822, doi:10.1530/eje.0.1390552. Read September 2026.